I Wish…

I’m sure many of you are probably aware that Amazon has a Wish List feature, whereby people can buy you stuff you want (rather than random stuff that they hope you’ll like). As Ayaka used to say every time she changed the format of her Surprise English Lessons show, however, the Amazon Wish List “Levels Up from tonight!” *cue clapping*

What they have now is something called a Universal Wish List button. The way it works is, you click and drag it from the Amazon website to your bookmarks toolbar (where it stays). What does it do once it’s there, you ask?

Let’s say that your family (or friends, assuming you have any) want to buy you a Christmas or birthday present. Let us also say that, like me, you feel bad putting the Amazon-listed version of your most wanted J-Pop albums onto your Amazon Wish List due to the much higher price Amazon charges for them. All you have to do is go to your favorite online J-Pop distributor’s website, find the item you want and, while viewing that item’s listing, click on the Universal Wish List button in your bookmarks toolbar. A little menu will pop up, and you can select the appropriate image for the item in question, fill in the price tag, and add it to your Amazon Wish List. Then, when someone clicks on that item to buy it for you, it takes them from Amazon to whichever site you found the item on (YesAsia, in the previous example), and then the family member or friend can proceed to order it from there, independent of Amazon.

I’m quite happy with this, really. Most J-Pop singles are around $20 on Amazon, but YesAsia has them for about half that price (or perhaps a tad more than half). SOUL’d OUT’s Flip Side Collection album that I’ve been eyeballing on Amazon for quite some time is listed as $50 or $60, but on YesAsia, it’s around $30. Now my family and friends can actually find J-Pop stuff I want for a pretty decent price.

So far, I’ve added all the J-Pop that used to be on my Wish List back on (with the new lower prices), as well as some stuff from WhoNA, my online source for all my Doctor Who needs. Well, almost all. Funnily enough, I just pre-ordered three new Doctor Who DVDS from Amazon, because they were cheaper. Heh.

Leave a comment